I get the feeling that Owen is asking, "what next". I mean, I think he is bored. He constantly is making this "eh eh" sound and begging to be picked up, but I think it is out of boredom. He seems to be ready to be on to the next thing, you know? I do not mean to be a typical mom here, but he is quite bright and sometimes we are just tired of each other...I can only think of so much during the day. Anyway, his best toy lately is a bunch of jewelry boxes, altoid tins, and shoe boxes that he can open and shut. If I put something in them, so much the better.
Tonight I went out for apps and drinks with KT. So necessary. I do not want to be misunderstood, but the idea of motherhood is slightly misrepresented. I mean, I waited until I was 33 to have Owen, and then to be immediately expected to drop my life and embrace round the clock mommydom---well, it is hard. Harder than anyone ever told me. It has just been so intense for months and months. Owen is the most amazing beautiful funny being I could ever imagine, it is just that sometimes I remember myself a few years ago and want to go back, desperately. Just for an hour or two. Without a hangover.
This has made me wonder if maybe we might be ready for a school or something and maybe a part time job for me. Owen seems ready and I do not want to find myself 10 years from now crazed and unemployable. I will look into this. I know there are a few places in town that claim to be more than a daycare.